Isang Yun: Réak (1966)
Isang Yun: Engel in Flammen, Memento für Orchester mit Epilog für Sopran, Frauenchor und fünf Instrumente (1994)


Luca Marenzio: Crudele acerba inexorabil‘ morte (1599) Nicola Vicentino: L‘aura che‘l verde lauro, a cinque voice (1572)
Luigi Nono: Il canto sospeso für Sopran-, Alt-, Tenor-Solo, Chor und Orchester (1955/56)

hr-Sinfonieorchester, SWR Vokalensemble, Peter Rundel (Dirigent), Yeree Suh (Sopran), Jenny Carlstedt (Alt), Robin Tritschler (Tenor)

Hessischer Rundfunk, hr-Sendesaal

New music is often music of sadness, of commemoration, exhortation and warning. It opposes human suffering at the hands of other humans. The serial cantata »Il canto sospeso« (1956) by Luigi Nono is based on final letters written by anti-fascist fighters sentenced to death. And Isang Yun’s elegiac »Engel in Flammen« (1994) commemorates those who demonstrated against the government in South Korea in 1991, whose protest was brutally quashed. Yun’s »Réak« (1966), on the other hand, in which he translates the sound character of the Korean mouth organ saenghwang into orchestral dimensions, is closer in character to a hymn.


Tickets: € 19, red. € 10


Bertramstraße 8 (Haupteingang) | 60320 Frankfurt

Mo – Fr 11.30 – 19 Uhr

Telefon: (069) 155-2000

AD ticket Frankfurt GmbH

Kaiserstraße 67 | 60329 Frankfurt (Nähe Hauptbahnhof)

Mo – Fr 9 – 19 Uhr, Sa 10 – 18 Uhr

Telefon: (069) 407 662 580